Food

The Steak Mart


A few months ago I needed a last minute, homey location to shoot a web video. The Steak Mart probably wasn’t the best option, but Mr. Robbie didn’t think twice before giving up his store space. He was genuinely glad to be of service-even though I hadn’t seen him in a while.

Mr. Robbie is the second generation operator and butcher of the Steak Mart located at 2773 Rosewood Dr. in Columbia, SC. He uses his store as a means to minister to the homeless and hurting in the city. When I think of people who act like Jesus, Mr. Robbie is at the top of that list. I’m posting this because 1.) There’s much to be learned from those who are truly living sacrificially and 2.) To encourage you to buy your meat at the Steak Mart. (His meatloaf is awesome. Meatloaf? Yes. Believe it! His steaks are pretty awesome as well.)

The Steak Mart is a butcher shop, but it’s also a place where the homeless can have a meal and where anyone can go for encouragement and wisdom. Growing up, I witnessed Mr. Robbie being a persistent rock and friend to those who were sometimes difficult to love. He counsels those with drug and marriage problems, is an incredible listener, and loves on everybody regardless of their past or present life choices. I think very highly of him because I can only imagine that relational ministry is extremely difficult. Absorbing the pain of others cannot be easy.

“For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in.” Matthew 25:35

I have no web link to direct you to for more info. You’ll have to actually stop in for yourself. When it comes to financial support, the ministry is partially supported by the shop. Isn’t the whole “Shop Smart-Buy Local-Let’s All Eat Granola Together” movement popular right now anyways? So just jump on the bandwagon and shop at your local Steak Mart. Regardless, Mr. Robbie’s the man, and his store is worth checking out.

One thought on “The Steak Mart

Leave a Reply

