Life & Faith

Pick a Freaking Cupcake

 cupcakes

Spring 2012 I was walking out of Starbucks thinking about the convo I’d just had with my friend Elizabeth.  We met weekly at the Starbucks on Gervais Street in Columbia where I’d enjoy a grande cafe Americano and piece of pumpkin bread while we shared whatever we were going through and learning that week and find out how to better pray for each other. That week I’d been stressing over if I should stay in Columbia until heading to China or go farming a few places and live and work in California before the Asian departure.

“Ugghh….What am I SUPPOSED to do??” Couldn’t stop thinking about it, and a lot was up in the air logistically.  I walked past Cupcake bakery on the way to my car and this image popped into my head of a two-year-old pitching a fit in his highchair because he couldn’t decide which cupcake he wanted to eat. Crying over cupcake options. Come on kid–just pick a freaking cupcake. I thought ‘Oh my goodness, that is exactly what I’m doing right now. Having options is a luxury. Maybe the ‘what’ I pick isn’t the point right now.’ Kind of like choosing a cupcake.

Last week I got to see the Perez family in North Carolina. I’ve missed them! They’ve known me since I was born, and all of us kids grew up together. Mr. John just bought one of his sons a book called Just Do Something: A Liberating Approach to Finding God’s Will or How to Make a Decision Without Dreams, Visions, Fleeces, Impressions, Open Doors, Random Bible Verses, Casting Lots, Liver Shivers, Writing in the Sky, etc. by Kevin DeYoung and read me and Mrs. Jane a paragraph or two while driving up to Boone to see Josh and Jonathan and for me to meet Josh’s wife for the first time. From the bit I heard, I don’t think I agree with the entire book (If the book could talk it probably would’ve told 2012 me to stay where I was, pick a definite career path, save more for retirement, and to give up the banjo already—which I’m very thankful the 2012 me didn’t do any of that), but it totally reminded me of my cupcake story. That sometimes we get bogged down in the decision, spoiling the gift of having options and not realizing that there may be more than one option that would be ‘okay’ for us to do.

I’m not talking about all situations. If you’re allergic to red food coloring, I wouldn’t recommend the red velvet. I’m not talking about choosing paths that you know you’re not supposed to go down or situations where you feel your heart tugging one way and you know you should go for it but you’re scared and stubborn and come up with lots of rational excuses not to commit there.

I’m talking about situations where you’ve prayed about it and put all the options on paper and sought advice and the choice isn’t clear.  God loves to give us gifts and having lots of options is sometimes a gift. Most people don’t have nearly as many options as people do where I’m from. So pick a cupcake—God is with you!  -> “Once these signs are fulfilled, do whatever your hand finds to do, for God is with you.” -1 Samuel 10:7  Isn’t that cool?

Columbia-cupcake-bakery-location-3
Leave a Reply

